Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that in institutions, especially schools, students should have a choice to whether to study a foreign language or not. While some argue with this statement, I strongly disagree with this view. I think that knowing several languages is an essential part of a future career and provides numerous benefits.

Firstly, learning a language from an early age can evolve many important skills which can be used in the future. With that being said, children who have bilingual abilities tend to show better results in multi-tasking and problem-solving. Secondly, in the modern world, the knowledge of a second language, especially if it is a hard language like Chinese, are the main requirements while applying whether to university or job. With this in mind, teaching multiple languages at schools can lead to better career facilities and overall increase the worldview. For instance, many well-paid occupations hire individuals who know more than one language, so that their companies can provide services on an international level.

However, despite all the benefits, schools need to take into account the needs and abilities of the student. Not all the learners can excel in language learning, due to the difference in brain activity and learning difficulties. Schools should ensure a friendly environment and diverse teaching methods, in order to prevent learners from feeling stressed or discouraged during their educational journey. For example, one of the methods for the small kids can be singing songs, meanwhile for the teenagers watching movies. This way, motivating to learn the language by considering the interests of the learner.

In conclusion, I believe that foreign languages should be taught as a part of education, as they obviously have their benefits, while some important aspects need to be considered.