Schools should use films, computers and games instead of books. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the world where AI designs websites, produces videos using Gen-2 engine, the quotidian existence of books at schools seems old-fashioned not just because there are more fashionable approaches to be employed, but it seems to fail to prepare students for the future life. Using visualization through educational movies and gamification, therefore, is not just a luxury, but a necessity considering different types of intelligences students enjoy. However, this change from book-based chalk and talk classes would come at a price, students’ concentration.

The avowed aim of each school is to prepare students for their future life effectively. This seems to be more easily achieved by using intriguing videos and games which constantly keeps students motivated and engaged. The students find the videos shared of more help as these videos embed an interesting narrative using popular characters among the target age group which makes the learning experience a lingering one. Take learning simple calculation as an example where students watch a video about Batman and Ben counting the number of their enemies instead of reading 2 pages of a math book followed by the teacher’s explanation. This video followed by some role-plays makes learning a more retentive one. The other reason which may compel the education authorities to enact rules putting books to sleep is the ability children need to hone at schools, team work. Students can learn to cooperate effectively with their classmates as teammates in a game where the team which spells more words correctly in a limited time wins.

Although what students achieve through games and films may be more retentive than books, distraction triggered by such games coupled with the decrease in students’ attention span would act as a deterrent for those supporting substituting books with motion pictures and electronic games. Exposing students to hours of videos and games sounds fun for them, yet there is no guarantee that students would not get distracted playing games or watching videos, staying focused seems to be a formidable task to fulfil. Some parents in the hope of not marring the enjoyment of attending such classes, as they seem to live vicariously through their children, prefer to enroll their little loved ones at schools where curriculum revolves around games and alike not books since they have already experienced school hours that minutes would slowly add up to help hear the end bell ring.

In conclusion, as schools need to prepare students for their future job and life, they have to use new ways to keep classes more interactive and enjoyable, yet the deteriorating effects of overusing learning aids such as films and group games would result in students whose attention would easily waver. I accord with using extra help from technology and fun, yet the adverse ramifications would sow the seeds of doubts in my heart to opt for a school for my child where children do not get to smell the book flicking.