Scientists believe that computers will become more intelligent than humans. Some say it is a positive development while others say it is a negative development. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The life quality of humans has changed significantly since the breakthroughs of technology. The fact that researchers believe in the superiority of computers to humans has raised a controversial debate on whether this is positive or negative. This essay will discuss both perspectives before stating my opinion.

On the one hand, computers with high intelligence can significantly enhance efficiency and productivity. They can process vast amounts of data, solve complex problems, and perform tasks at speeds far beyond human capabilities. The logistics sector is an exemplar of this argument since computers can simultaneously sort, track, and update a tremendous number of deliveries relentlessly and effortlessly at extremely high precision and speed in a bit of seconds. However, this can be seen as disadvantageous for humans because as computers become more intelligent, there is a concern about the displacement of jobs. The automation of various tasks could lead to unemployment in some sectors, potentially threatening the livelihoods of many workers, given how effective and productive computers can be.

On the other hand, highly intelligent computers could accelerate scientific research and discovery. They might be able to analyse complex data sets, simulate experiments, and generate hypotheses at a pace that human researchers cannot match. Many medications and vaccines have been produced to tackle some diseases that were seemingly uncurable in the past, thanks to computers. Again, this progress means that without this form of support, humans’ well-being can be easily at risk, and such overreliance can lead to a loss of essential human skills, potentially diminishing human cognitive capabilities and decision-making skills.

In conclusion, although the intelligence of computers can help humans attain many achievements in terms of effectiveness, productivity and progress, I believe the drawbacks of this development may eclipse its benefits in the long run when it comes to the employability and livelihood of numerous labourers, as well as the human nature because of the overdependence on such technology.