Scientists believe that computers will become more intelligent than humans. Some say it is a positive development while others say it is a negative development. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is widely claimed that the intelligence of computer will outsmart that of humankind. From my perspective, if computers are smarter than humans, there will be some detrimental impacts on us,namely rendering people unemployed as well as diminishing humans’ creativity, but the beneficial outcome regarding conducting challenging tasks that we used to struggle for seems more noticeable.

With regards to the upside, it is evident that individuals are no longer strained by data-related duties. Although those duties are essential for human operation but they are time-consuming, and thanks to the advent of artificial intelligence, we now can obtain more accurate information faster. For example, some businesses are applying AI in weather forecast, stock analysis to boost their productivity. People working in one of many occupations which consumes a large amount of time is programming also benefit from it due to its excellent coding skill. Therefore, we could count on such intelligence to carry out several demanding tasks, and may leave us more time to enjoy our life.

On the flip end, the negative influences on human beings are not negligible. One is that the unemployment rate will be on the rise because of the dominance of AI in numerable sectors, such as driving or manufacturing. A number of companies are going to realise that utilizing autonomous machines is more economical than hiring labourers, thereby rendering countless ones idle. Another worth mentioning is the threat against individuals’ intellectual development; when a huge quantity of computer-based tools are capable of generating artworks, presentations, lots of students tend to depend on such tools to gain high marks in schools and not even have to think for more than 10 minutes. On top of that, cheating perhaps will be common in some intellectual sports like chess. There is one case of Niemans, who is a chess player, used a Stockfish bot to defeat Carlsen, who is acknowledged as number one player in this game. This is just one of several cases of cheating related to AI, which raised people’s concerns about the transparency of such tournaments.

In conclusion, while the disadvantages of AI surpassing our intelligence are available, I would contend that the upside drawn from that is more justifiable.