Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

According to some academics, in the future our society might see the rise of self-driving cars, operated by a computer, not a human driver. Some view that as a good development, while others think that the negative consequences outweigh the positive ones. I agree with the former viewpoint, because I believe that if computers were to replace human drivers, it would become much easier to maintain order on the roads.

First of all, the best thing about computers potentially taking over our roads in the future is the fact that machines do not have consciousness, therefore they are programmed to abide by strict rules and algorithms. So it is pretty safe to claim that a computer driving a car is much more likely to follow traffic regulations compared to a human driver. For example, computers surely will not cut corners or go over the speed limit to save a couple of minutes, because computers do not have places to be. They will not be texting while driving because they do not have anyone to send texts to. And even if they do, they can do multiple things simultaneously, which people cannot. That is why they will drive the car safely, following all the rules and regulations.

Secondly, computers do not have feelings, unlike human beings. So they cannot get carried by emotions, which would also secure our roads in a way. How many times have we all heard about people creating dangerous situations on the roads because they were angry, or scared, or too excited about something? Well, this problem might be finally solved by introducing emotionless computer driving systems.

Overall, I think that developments in the field of driverless cars might bring about some positive change for our society. Computers do not have human flaws, and they always follow the rules, which makes them perfect drivers. The success is but guaranteed.