Scientists predict that all people will choose to speak the same global language in the future. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is claimed by scientists that only one international language will be spoken by people in the coming decades. From my point of view, I firmly believe that this is largely a negative phenomenon, as it will adversely affect cultural diversity and pose limitations for non-native speakers.

Firstly, there is no denying that this form of globalization has an overwhelming influence on other cultures. While it is true that speaking the same language will facilitate better communication and international business practices for individuals across the world, it is liable to cause cultural extinction. This is because people will be only encouraged to abandon their mother tongues rather than embracing them, in order to fit in with others and to enjoy comparative advantages in terms of employment prospects. To give an illustration, Resigaro, an Amazonian language from Peru, has only one speaker owing to the dominance of the Spanish language in the region.

Secondly, having to learn a new language in depth will prove burdensome for people outside that particular country. This is to say that the language acquisition process is complex and demanding, leading to struggles among people. In other words, qualified teachers, sufficient study materials, and resources are needed to study a language in detail. Without these, it is challenging for learners to wholly comprehend the language. People in Asia, for instance, are in desperate need of competent English teachers in order to sustain themselves in a world dominated by the English language.

In conclusion, regarding the statement that the same global language is expected to be spoken by individuals from all over the world in the future, I hold the belief that this is an unwelcome development, as it will result in the loss of linguistic diversity, as well as present challenges to non-native speakers.