Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

According to some scientists, people are believed to eventually speak only one language. While most people agree with this opinion, l feel that communicating only one language might lead to some challenges.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why people think that there will be only one language in the world. First and foremost, if there is only one language around the world, tourists would not struggle to communicate when traveling abroad. To take Egypt as an example, if tourists visit that country to see a sightseeing place like the pyramids, they can learn about it from local people instead of using a translator, since they all speak only one language. In addition, books and newspapers are published in only one language. As a result, most people would appreciate works by many writers who are not from their own nationality.

On the other hand, although the points above are true, I will not change my opinion. Using one language may lead to some negative effects. Firstly, the language of each country can preserve its own culture. For instance, festivals, national holidays, and also special events are related to the language of each country, and these should be passed on to future generations through their own languages. Secondly, each language has its own unique words and expressions. Relying on one language could result in the loss of subtle differences and the rich vocabulary found in their language.

In conclusion, while people prefer there to be only one language around the world,l believe that maintaining different languages has several benefits.