Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

It is said by some scientists that human beings will be able to communicate through only one language which is globally known. Even though there are various benefits to constantly understand each other without using additional language skills, I personally believe that speaking the same language among groups of people might not be a good way of communication because it can lead to the absence of diversity and limitations to explore new culture.

On the one hand, using only a particular language in the society advantages people by giving effective communication. It is easier to convey ideas, emotions, and information without frequent misunderstandings or the need of information. Additionally, a sense of unity will be enhanced as soon as people start to understand everyone in the same area. Take Thailand and Laos, for example, although two nations are separated by borders, citizens from both countries feel familiar when visiting another because of their identical languages. Lastly, there will be more opportunities to make a connection when everyone is a mother tongue as people will not be required to have additional language skills to get to know each other.

Nevertheless, there are some disadvantages when other languages disappear from daily uses. Firstly, relying solely on one specific language may reduce chances to experience more different backgrounds, perspectives and traditional cultures. The example are some European countries as people in new generations tend to use English as a first language in their daily routines, making them lacks the knowledge of their cultural heritages and some unique customs. Secondly, it will not be profitable for the society to exclude various settings. If the area relies on just one language, residents will not find the diversity and then overlook their special skills those provided with multilingual ability. Over relying on one perspective, moreover, can be contributed by using a widely-used language. Users might have same attitude toward the difficulty, leading to an absence of accurate solving ways.

In conclusion, although communicating through one particular language could be positive for people to easily understand and convey the information, I believe that the negative sides of having just one way to express oneself are more various and can contribute to the loss of cultures and multicultural settings.