Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small number of people. Some people say that governments should spent public money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, numerous languages are at the edge of extinction. The main cause of this global issue is that endangered languages are used on a regular basis only by a relatively small population. While some people argue that the authorities should invest heavily in the project of preserving languages, others think that public money should be spent only on regional problems such as education and healthcare. Although both views have their own appeal, I strongly believe that making investment in order to save languages that are in danger of extinction is a more meaningful deed for several reasons.

On the one hand, languages are unique tools that can help us educate future generations about various cultures and countries. These days, English, Chinese and Spanish languages are increasingly becoming ubiquitous and the only ways of communicating with tourists due to their widespread popularity. However, this trend can lead to the loss of languages that are rich in history and cultural heritage, making it challenging for future generations to explore the diversity of countries. I believe that governments should spend public money on teaching endangered languages to the official school curriculum and organising workshops and informative sessions to raise awareness about languages that are at the edge of extinction.

On the other hand, there are other problems such as education and healthcare that should not leave without attention. These spheres are incredibly valuable in our times, because more and more innovations and breakthroughs are being discovered and launched every single day. They will ensure society’s innovative future, providing them with all the needs. However, what I am concerned about is that striving for excellence in these fields, can miss some pieces that make us humans and together, the integrated world. We should not move forward leaving endangered languages to recover by themselves, authorities’ subsidies and our social support are essential elements of not only preserving endangered languages, but also world diversity from disappearance.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that fields such as education and healthcare are critical human needs and should mostly be top priorities, but saving endangered languages can be more important for us at this stage. Not only does this contribution save global diversity, but also sheds light on the history and culturally meaningful treasures of endangered languages that can be essential to educate future generations about sociology.