Should Government be responsible for providing pure drinking water to all or should the people obtain their own water?

Water is an essential elements in the daily life of organisms, prominently to humans. However, should the government be involved in distributing clean water for drinking to the residents? In my perspective, I should say that the government – except for area involved in disasters and predicaments – should not be held responsible to provide drinking water to the society.

Living in the contemporary world where the access to water is ubiquitous in the society, most people living in a country are able to cater with their thirst by boiling the water that maybe can be found just in front of their houses! By right, the society should have already acknowledged the methods of preparations for water that can be safely drink from their own houses or by purchasing at the nearby retail stores. Thus, there are no sense of urgency for the government to step up and provide the water themselves.

Rather than concerning the residents with easy access of water, government should prioritize on the underdeveloped or disaster-striken countries which has less availability of safely drinking water in their houses. Residents living post-disaster might have their only accessible water resources swept away by the gushing winds or the heavy tides. Therefore, not all people should the government to not be responsible to when it comes to aiding the needy for the water supplies.

To conclude this argument, I concur that the government or its bureaucracy should not be held responsible to supply safe drinking water to the residents, however priority should be considered to the people that need it the most.