Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, the issue of long-term jobseekers receiving government benefits has been a debatable topic. There is a view that seekers should do voluntary work to contribute to the society. This essay will discuss pros and cons of this statement and provide a conclusion about this question.

On the one hand , making long-terms jobseekers do voluntary work has some advantages. Firstly, it would develop new skills and give career experience, which would help them to find a paid job in the future. For instance, long-term seekers who volunteers in social centre may develop social and organisation skills. Secondly, it would fulfill a feeling of satisfaction and give them a clear goal. For example, a long-term seeker, who volunteers in the orphanage home or in the hospital may feel a satisfaction from helping other people and can feel their importance to others. This, can improve their social skills, mental health and make them more motivated to find a job.

However , there is also disadvantages to this suggestion. It would be like a punishment or problem for people who are already trying to find a job. To illustrate, if seeker attempt to find a work for a several weeks, months or even years, volunteering will be for them like encumbrance, but not like advantage.

In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages to make long-terms job seekers do voluntary work. I believe that the pros outweigh the cons. Voluntary work will improve social skills and organisation, and may help to learn how to communicate with different people, and after all gain work experience . Nevertheless, it is crucial to ensure that the voluntary work within reasonable limits and just help seekers to improve their skills and acts equally.