Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Community is the essence of the society from which a novice steps into the real world. It not only serves as the backbone but also prepares them to take their first step onto the corporate ladder. Admittedly, the government has put into place various schemes to incentivize the corporations, but employees should be encouraged to extend their hand to help the community, their roots, and return the favor.

To begin with, being active in the community helps one fulfill the need for belongingness. Furthermore, helping out in the community provides one with an invaluable life experience at the expense of practically losing nothing. For example, crashing one of your client’s applications on a busy day may not seem a big deal when you have someone you can ask to fix it with you. Thus, being a part of the community can help set oneself apart in this cutthroat, competitive world.

Additionally, having a large coterie can open a lot of opportunities, as it provides one with a set of people who have your best interests in mind. On top of that, interacting with a wide range of people nourishes communication skills and can set you decades ahead in life if one can master them. For example, when interacting with one of your fellow Japanese community members, you got to know about the culture and traditions and also got to reduce the language barrier. Therefore, having a community can, in turn, help in ways one can never imagine.

To conclude, those who plan their careers to work in corporations should be asked to reach out to the community for support and offer themselves for a good cause. In my opinion, people with a significant coterie should always have them available. On that account, the lucky ones are those who get to be a part of their respective communities and should always try to help them in the best way possible.