Since the beginning of the 20th century, the number of endangered species has increased significantly and we have witnessed more mass extinctions in this period than in any other period of time. State some reasons for this and provide possible solutions.

Over the last few decades, there has been mass poaching, which has led to a decrease in the number of animals. The consequences of this trend can be brutal. For example, there is a possibility of the extinction of these animals. In this essay, I will delve into the outcome of this tendency and provide some solutions.

It is clear that the number of poachers is rising day by day. This is because most people want to get a profit by selling parts of species that are valuable in the black market. For instance, hunters in Africa are killing rhinos for their horns, which are worth $60,000. As a result, there has been a massive downgrade in the number of rhinos, leading to the loss of biodiversity. Another consequence of this trend is its economic impact. Some communities rely on industries such as fishing and agriculture. Losing the resources for their necessities can be detrimental.

However, these problems can be addressed by several measures. Firstly, nations should implement international laws to mitigate the consequences of extinction. This is because if rules are strict, people have to obey them, meaning that they will not hunt animals anymore. Another solution for that problem can be imposing seasons for hunting periods. If some communities rely on fishing, they can hunt fish after the breeding season. Therefore, the number of fish might not decline in the future.

In conclusion, mass extinction is one of the serious problems that should be considered more. The consequences of this trend can be worse. Yes, it is true that we cannot fully mitigate the impacts; however, at least doing something is better for humanity and animals.