Since the beginning of the 20th century, the number of endangered species has increased significantly and we have witnessed more mass extinctions in this period than in any other period of time. State some reasons for this and provide possible solutions.

In status quo, it is inevitable that the prevalence of endangered species has significantly increased, resulting in more mass extinctions of floras and faunas than in any other period in human history. This alarming situation shows a serious threat to the world’s biodiversity and ecosystem, making it urgent to be addressed as soon as possible with effective solutions.

One notable reason for the rise in endangered species is the capture of protected animals and plants. Various types of elephants, tigers, and rhinos across the globe are being seized for the sake of human goods such as for making jewelry, clothing, accessories, and even traditional medicine. In Indonesia, for example, the Sumatran Elephants, Orangutan, and Birds of Paradise in Papua island are in their most extinct condition due to the illegal capture actions. This exploitative activity by selfish individuals continues to happen, despite the fact that it has been strictly regulated by the government of Indonesia.

To tackle this issue, the work of every layer within society is needed; starting from the government, non-profit organizations on environmental issue, and citizens in general. The government must take immediate action by increasing penalties for offenders and strengthening environmental protection laws to stop illegal wildlife trafficking. Furthermore, environmental organizations need to spread awareness of this issue as effectively and creatively as posible to people, specifically in remote areas. By doing the campaign, it can ensure that the society will have more awareness towards this problem.

In conclusion, it is an undeniable condition that some of our biodiversity are in an endangered situation, especially with the amount of illegal capture that happened. Therefore, every aspect of society must work hand-in-hand in order to solve this issue and save various animals and plants species.