Since the beginning of the 20th century, the number of endangered species has increased significantly and we have witnessed more mass extinctions in this period than in any other period of time. State some reasons for this and provide possible solutions.

There is a significant increase in the number of endangered species and the rise in mass extinctions since the beginning of the 20th century are alarming issues that have attracted global attention. It is estimated that if the loss of animals is still being, almost half of living creatures will go extinct because of human-related activities in the coming centuries. The problem will be clarified in this essay, along with several workable solutions.

One of the key factors contributing to the increasing number of endangered species is overexploitation. It had become a way to make money since the start of the 1900s. Because it is a method to make profit from the animal’s body for hunters, they are utilizing them for consumers’ daily wishes. Examples include rhino’s tusk and deer’s horn, which are worth $60,000. Thus, it leads various species to vanish. Another consequence of this trend is its economic impact. Some communities rely on industries such as fishing and agriculture. Also, it is possible to disrupt entire ecosystems, making it difficult for the natural balance to be restored.

However, these problems can be addressed by several measures. Firstly, nations should implement international laws to mitigate the effects. If the government has strong laws, people will obey them. For instance, they can impose seasons for hunting periods, fine and convict them. Therefore, the number of animals might not decline in the future.

In conclusion, numerous species are getting extinct due to human impact. Our planet doesn’t exist only for humans and modernization, it must make the earth livable for all. Still, this issue can be remedied by the collaborative efforts of governments and individuals alike.