Smoking not only harms the smoker but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern times, the issue of smoking in public place has become highly controversial. They are those who said that smoking in public areas should be banned, however others believe that it should be not. In this essay i will examine both sides of this argument and provide my overall opinion.

Generally speaking there are two main reasons why people believe that government should forbid smoking in places, such as hospital, restaurant, and train stations. Perhaps the main reason why people are in favour of this idea is because cigarette smoke is concinogenic for the people who breath it. A good illustration of this is that people who smoke and secondary smokers can develop serious illness such as lung cancer. A further point in favour of banning smoking in public places is that the smoke from cigarette smell terrible. If you stand next to someone who is smoking your clothes will smell like tobacco smoke for the rest of the day.

Desperate this arguments this is also a case for the idea that smoking in public place should be allowed. The main reason why people think that this is a good idea is because it could negatively effect some businesses, such as bar, night club, and restaurant. As a result many people could losses jobs. Secondly the government could be loss a lot of tax revenue from cigarettes. This is because less people would buy cigarettes and also pay less tax on them.

In conclusion, it must be said that smoking in public areas has become a complex issue with no easy solution. Despite arguments to the contrary, I very strongly feel that we should Ban smoking in all public places. If the governments implements this policy we will have a healthier and cleaner society.