Social Media has helped us increase our virtual networks . this has isolated us physically making us social awkward in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give you opinion.

Virtual connections have become a common practice since the advent of social media platforms. While some people hold the opinion that this has isolated people from one another, making human-to-human interactions more awkward, I am of the opposite notion.

I disagree with this viewpoint primarily because social media connects humans regardless of the difficulties associated with time or territory. What I mean by this is that people now can keep in touch with one another more easily than decades ago. For instance, Europeans living in the Far East due to their work are no longer in need to cross over thousands of kilometers in order to spend some quality time with their family and friends. All this can be achieved via clicking a few buttons, through social media apps, such as Instagram or Messenger. Furthermore, when being connected with closest relations virtually during times of absence, it reduces the occurrence of unpleasant feelings that would take place when coming back without any knowledge of the important events that took place during their absence.

Secondly, social media tightens relationships not only when people are physically far away, but it is also crucial in today’s busy environment. To put it simply, due to busy schedules that some have to stick to, people may have a free time deficiency, which can bring problems such as not having enough time to spend with their closest relations. Having a phone call once or twice a day provides the ability to keep up with updates and gives a sense of mutual care, which is of high importance in human relations. Another positive effect of online interactions is flexibility. People can now hold online meetings at any time of the day. It reduces the amount of time needed for traveling to a venue, which they can then spend doing other activities, using their time more efficiently.

In conclusion, I fully oppose the idea of social media disconnecting people. From my perspective, not only does it facilitate the process of keeping long-distance relationships, but it is also a great tool for efficient time management.