Social media is becoming more and more trendy today, what are the advantages and disadvantages of using social media

In today’s world, social media plays a significant role in people’s life as it is becoming increasingly popular in the world.However, it has merits and demerits that the disadvantages outweight advantages.

One of the advantages of social networking platforms is that it facilitiate interaction and enhance communication among people who desire to keep in touch with others. Online networking sites enable people to communicate regardless of geographical distance and helps families and friends maintain long -distance relationships.By using internet- based platforms individuals can exchange their ideas and stay connected in real time. In addition to this, it provides instant access to information. Students can benefit from online resources like a number of educational videos, news and attend virtual cources created in online platforms free of charge.

On the other hand, some virtual communication platforms leads to addiction that results in poor time management to important tasks, work and study. This is because users’ time is spent on scrolling through content and surfing the web. As a consequence, people are distracted from real-life responsibilities and attention to their family. Furthermore, excessive use of social media causes anxiety and depression due to comparing themselves with unrealistic online lifestyles of celebrities and prominet figures.

In conclusion, although social media offers a wide variety of benefits in terms of communication and education, its negative effects to time management and mental health cannot be ignored.