Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that society would not operate properly if there was no existence of a standardized law system and citizens were allowed to do everything out of self-interest. This essay is going to argue why it completely agrees with such a statement.

The abolishment of rules and regulations would certainly lead to numerous severe consequences because people could freely commit crimes without being punished. Inevitably, crime rates would surge uncontrollably, leading to a state of chaos that hinders residents from thriving. Furthermore, it is true that if people were not constrained by a mutual code of conduct that governs citizens’ lives, those who are more powerful would possibly ignore fundamental human rights to relentlessly conduct wars and conflicts aiming to acquire favorable resources from other communities. Such a disorder situation might destroy human lives and the environment and eventually lead to a world inhabitable.

To add more credence to the argument, there are numerous reasons why a society based on rules and laws can certainly better facilitate its citizens. One prominent reason is that people can settle under some obligation of rules and norms which protect their rights from violence, and generate fairness for everyone. With that being said, citizens can be assured of doing business, raising children, and living a harmonious life. Another convincing reason why citizens should live under certain laws is younger generations would be nurtured in an environment where they bear in mind what is good or bad according to laws and avoid unlawful behaviors. Such a secure environment would facilitate the youth’s growth and prosperity.

In conclusion, the essay has highlighted reasons why society must be operated based on laws and regulations and presented some consequences if people could freely do whatever they want. Additionally, it is advisable that citizens are well aware of laws and fully obey.