Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

There is a segment of the population that claims the effectiveness of laws and rules can only work when everybody complies and follows it. As far as I am concerned, I wholeheartedly agree with this opinion and some major reasons for this current situation will be outlined below in my essay.

In this contemporary world, in fact, there are numerous issues happening in our society due to many cases that do not obey the regulations and rules. Related to this phenomenon, there are 2 major negative impacts on human social life. Firstly, the order of society will totally disappear as individuals ignore rules and laws. For example, a famous Hollywood movie Mad Max showed a dark side of the world when people no longer comply with laws. It was a world with crimes and unjust because people did not scare or even ignore the punishment of laws. Another point worth mentioning is that disobeying laws and regulations gives rise to crimes. Laws and rules are promulgated aimed at controlling social order and reducing illegal cases among our society, so disregarding and ignoring laws lead to promulgating laws becoming useless to inhabitants and increasing crime behaviors.

Based on these issues, I strongly believe that the laws can only function when each individual is in the sense of compliance with the law. Following regulations and rules help the society develop and civilize. When the inhabitants have the awareness of obeying laws, they will create a suitable and safety environment for not only themselve but also their family and friends.Take Singapore as a typical example, their residents very conscious in dispose of trash in the right place and plant lots of trees to protect their environment and natural sources. Laws exerted a profound influence on humans’ mortal and behaviors stand out as another reason. In the cases of temptation, individuals might be aware of the punishment of laws that they could resist, reducing social crimes. Besides, laws and regulations help to protect themselves, especially if they are victims.

In conclusion, the importance of inhabitants’ compliance is undebatable. Moreover, their distribution to protect social order will ensure a better and safer life for their beloved, and help them to raise awareness of how laws function in our daily life.v