Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The establishment of legislation is a focal point of contemporary societal discussions. While some argue that granting absolute privilege to entities would induce a well-functioning society, I would contend that a structured framework of statutes is indispensable for maintaining a community’s order.

There are several drawbacks to no rules. Firstly, without lawful guidelines, individuals may act solely based on personal inclinations, giving rise to chaos and discord in daily life. For example, people who do not follow traffic laws can be contributing factors to the increase in traffic accidents. Consequently, they could pose a threat to numerous lives. In addition, if society is not dependent on regulations, it can put pressure on the government. Because politicians cannot manage the citizens, which follows they be involved in serious criminal activities. As a result, the proportion of crime would rapidly increase.

Based on my observation, most regulations are of magnitude. Because before a law is enacted, this is taken into careful consideration by governors. Therefore, it plays an important role in the development of society. However, in some cases, laws are prone to place a limit on individuals’ freedom and can at least appear to inhibit social progress. Harsh laws could obstruct creativity and discourage people from expressing their views. Take freedom of speech as an example; if the press and public had no opportunity to voice their concerns, a country could not pinpoint and tackle some problems such as corruption and bureaucracy. As a result, society could not fulfill the function of improving or even overhauling its system and policies regularly to serve the interests of the public.

In conclusion, the efficient functioning of a community is intricately tied to the establishment and adherence to rules and laws. While individual freedom is crucial, it must exist within the boundaries set by a legal framework to maintain a society that thrives on stability and security.