Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

Rules and laws govern many societies. If people are not restricted from doing as they please, then society cannot function. I strongly concur with this statement, especially because of the significant violation of human rights that can be incurred, by not abiding by them.

Most people believe that not setting restrictions can provide an unfair advantage to a particular group of people over the others. Taking the attack of Ukraine by Russia for instance, since Russia is a super power nation, they are able to fatally attack several Ukrainian civilians with no fear of repercussions. Therefore providing an extremely unfair edge over them, which on the other hand, is very poor, and lacks the support of strong countries. This situation is the result of the lack of solid international laws, to prevent such unjust territorial occupations. Due to the devastating loss of life and war-like circumstances that occur in a free world, I believe that rules should be implemented across the world.

Despite the drastic outcomes discussed above, many still feel that utmost freedom should be granted to everyone, because it can restrict a person from success despite their capabilities. For example, the caste-based reservation system in India has crushed many people’s dream of becoming government officers, simply because of a rule on the allocation limit set for their caste. Meaning that even if they score higher than a person from a lower caste, the seat will most probably be allotted to the other person. Doing this takes away the importance of scoring good marks, and prioritizes a factor that individuals have no control over. However, the way I see it, these are excuses that have simple workarounds, say aspiring officers are unable to clear government exams, they can apply for the same position in private institutions and still become an officer.

In conclusion, I am of the strong opinion that rules and laws should dictate the abilities of the members of society, not individuals, because despite some minor inconveniences that require people to look for alternative option, following the law can help prevent an unjust and unsafe society.