Society is becoming obsessed with material goods like fast cars,designer clothes and flashy jewellery. We have stopped caring about the important things and that is why divorce rates are high and family bonds are not as strong anymore;our value system is disintegrating.To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, the prevalence of lavish and extravagant products is believed to be directly linked to a materialistic society. Whether this is a primary cause of the deminished ethos of sharing and caring or not still remains controversial. This essay will discuss both views and give my own opinion.

From one perspective, the value system is disintegrating due to the excessive concentration to material goods. One compelling reason is that people are immersed in the value of products. With the promotion of celebrities on social platforms, people, especially teengagers, are inclined to emulate flashy lifetyles, using the accumulation of possessions as a yardstick of success and happiness, which highlight the hierarchy. Hence, the interpersonal connections can be superficial, transient and ad hoc as people priorize reinforcing their reputation and financial status and overlook their relationships. Moreover, it is apparent that many people these days earn handsome income at any cost, including unlawful behaviours. So greedy and self-fish that numerous people engage in illegal activities, such as cajoling customers to purchase substandard products. In the long run, the public trust will be decayed, triggering prolonged conflicts and violence.

Conversely, it is undeniable that the society is evolving, not deteriorating. The elderly contributes to a vast majority of these complaints because their perspectives have been altered. Homosexuality is in the same situation, facing sarcasm and hatred as people reminisce about “the good old times” and stand by their obsolete and regressive beliefs. Being obsessed with material goods is normalized with the indicative of open-mindedness in the fast-changing world. In addition, many families still place a high value on the togetherness and consolidate their relationships permanently. They acquire knowledge about how to navigate a materialistically driven society, transcending obstacles and temptation of luxury and materialism. Therefore, material goods are not culpable, and the pivotal contribution to the breakdowns can be regarded as the deficiency of competence and proper guidances.

All things considered, although this trend is not without benefits, I highly believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Thus, the government should actively establish policies to deter exaggerated advertising, promoting luxurious lifestyles, in the guise of giving neccessary information to the customers and raise the public’s awareness to tackle this issue.