Some argue that music mainly serves as a way for individuals to reduce their stress and anxiety. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, music helps people to feel less stressful and reduces their anxiety. I totally agree with those who advocate that music has the power of relaxing effect on people, and in this essay I will explain my reasons.

To start with, some people prefer to listen to music in public places when they get overwhelmed by the noise of crowds. Sometimes they do not want to listen to chattering that takes place around them. By putting on their headphones, they only listen to whatever they want. This helps them to create their own personal places and feel more relaxed even if they are in noisy crowds. Some music types are also commonly used in workplaces to increase motivation of their employees. Specifically, classical music regulates the heart rhythm of a person and reduces their stress. For instance, when I listen to music while doing my homework, I feel much more focused because it helps me to get away from other noises that distract me.

Secondly, doctors believe that music has a healing effect on a person’s body regardless of their ages. They give advice to mothers about playing classical music to their new-born babies because they believe that these babies become more relaxed and calm compared to others. Moreover, for patients who take cancer treatment, some songs can encourage them to feel better and courageous. This is the most important thing for human psychology because feeling better sometimes makes recovery faster. Scientific records emphasize if a person plays a musical instrument, their cognitive skills such as creativity will improve. Also, this person will spend a lot of time craving more, learning notas, and developing their hand usage. Therefore, they tend to stay away from technological devices which trigger stress and anxiety in overuse.

In conclusion, music can be seen as a way for people to decrease their stress and anxiety. In my belief, music helps people to feel more relaxed by not only giving them an opportunity to create their personal places but also affects an individual’s health positively.