Some argue that patriotism is the primary cause of wars globally. Others feel that it serves to prevent less ethical politicians from running a country and starting wars. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The act of love and loyalty to one’s country, that is Patriotism. Some people believe that it is the leading cause of wars across the globe, while others strongly feel the opposite; of which the act of being patriotic prevents politicians who have a weak foundation of ethics from gaining a seat in the government, eventually running their country and starting wars. Both opinions will be tackled in this essay. However, I believe that patriotism has always brought honor to every country and its citizens.

Many still believe that patriotism is the primary cause of wars because this may be attributed to the people’s strong sense of attachment to their country, to defend their country, and unity. Based on the history books, wars go way back hundreds of years ago and two variables can be derived from these books. One variable is that wars always arise when people fight over lands they want to occupy, and the other reason is that the groups who fight over the lands were always manipulated into being “united”. Mainly, patriotism is not the main cause of wars, but the cause of why they last; as patriotism is manipulated, it brews unnecessary conflicts.

An order to start a war from a country’s unethical leader, who thinks only of gaining assets, will always risk its citizens, who are all united and devoted to their country, disregarding the bad effects it will cause, especially to the ones who are vulnerable. People somehow feel that patriotism prevents politicians who have a weak foundation of ethics from running a country and starting wars. This is because if citizens are patriotic enough, it is easier for them to recognize political candidates who lack this foundation. For being ethical means being able to recognize what is right or wrong, and doing what is right based on societal norms. Hence, if the elected officials have a strong foundation of ethics, these officials will prioritize the greater good of their country and have positive global relations instead of initiating wars.

I firmly believe that patriotism is an imperative trait not only of leaders but also of its citizens. People who possess this trait exemplify great commitment and dedication to their country; they hold their nation’s flag across the globe during healthy competitions. They uphold actions to defend their country from impending threats or wars while remembering to instill unity and peace in their people.

To conclude, instilling patriotism in every citizen globally will always be beneficial, but it should be observed as true patriotism—in a sense that it spreads inclusivity, unity, love, and devotion—and not manipulated into false patriotism, which spreads negative insights.