Some believe children should be taught to give speeches and presentations in school. Why is this? Should this be taught in schools?

There is a suggestion that children should be educated to give speeches and organize presentations in school. The reasons for this normally include improving communication skills and boosting student’s self-confidence. Due to the benefits of public speaking, I firmly believe such practice should be incorporated into the school curriculum, with only a few exceptions for some students.

Public speaking is a beneficial practice for two main reasons. One is encouraging children to develop communication skills by making them speak in front of an audience. This experience focuses on learning a speech and showing body language confidently. With regard to confidence, is the second major advantage of including public speaking in the school curriculum. When children are asked to perform in front of others, they normally work with their fears and overcome stress. This can be a fundamental aspect of their character development.

Considering the positive outcomes of practising public speaking, I am convinced that it should be a part of the school’s priorities. Making children create presentations, memorize texts and perform charismatically in a classroom will clearly lead to productive results. However, there are medical conditions in which speaking publicly may be too overwhelming. Autism is one of those conditions. This means if there is a medical explanation as to why the student would feel too anxious performing publicly, they should not be forced to engage in this activity.

In conclusion, I consider public speaking to be a great addition to the school curriculum. The majority of children should be encouraged to conduct presentations.