Some believe children should start school as early as possible, while others think they should begin later. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Society has two views of starting school early versus starting school later. People feel that if children start school earlier, children have better feedback when it comes to the learning process. On the other side, society has people who feel children need to start later. Each side has great points to make to defend its opinion.

For those who advocate starting early, it is less troublesome if a student is introduced to basic skills such as reading, writing, and counting before entering kindergarten. Also, the more time children spend in a more academic setting, the more they develop habits of study at an earlier age. Moreover, starting school early gives parents more time to get back to work quicker, which supports families. In all actuality, some research has suggested that children encounter the greatest amount of long-term academic advantage when beginning school as a child.

On the other side, there are people who feel children need to start later. These people feel children benefit from added time to play, explore, and fully develop socially and emotionally before the demands of school take over their lives. In addition, small children are not always capable of exhibiting personal discipline and can struggle at times to sit still, pay attention to instruction, or focus on a lesson for more than a short time. Allowing children time to develop before they engage in school will benefit their mental and social development. Lastly, I believe that prolonging formal education while a child is young will promote their academic development.