Some believe children should start school as early as possible, while others think they should begin later. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The debate on the appropriate time for children to begin formal schooling continues to attract input from parents, teachers, and child psychologists. There are dual opinions between the early entry proponents and late entry proponents, with both presenting solid arguments founded on experience and research.

Supporters of early schooling point to the exceptional learning and absorbing capacity of young children. They feel that teaching basic subjects like reading, phonics, and math at the preschool level is a great starting point for an academic head start. Early joining is culturally deeply rooted in the notion that it reaps long-term success and better career prospects.

On the other hand, advocates of delayed school age have pointed to the benefits of early childhood play as a learning process. They believe that play is critical in building creativity, emotional, and social skills—skills that are on par with academics. Studies show that very young children learn a great deal from having the freedom to explore, interact, and express themselves freely before attending formal learning institutions. Studies even show that the later children start school, they do just as well—maybe better—scholarwise and are emotionally more developed and better able to handle classroom environments.

Ultimately, the best time for a child to start school may vary depending on individual growth and family circumstances. Requiring early academic exposure is positive, but emotional ability and social ability are equally important. Equilibrating structured lessons and free play could be the optimum way to develop a child as a whole. Rather than conforming to a one-size-fits-all blueprint, it could be more advantageous to work with the particular needs and ability of each child to enable them to shine academically as well as as individuals.