Some believe governments should spend more money on improving roads and highways, while some think money should be spent improving public transportation, such as buses, trains, and subways. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

In contemporary society, where technology and advancements in all kinds of fields are progressing, it is normal to thoroughly analyze where the government’s focus should be poured in terms of transportation. Whether it is for the improvement of road channels and highways, or for the refinement of public transportation, specifically buses, trains, and subways.

In general, governments are allocating a certain budget on different infrastructures, be it for renovations or expansion. From my perspective, it is important to consult an urban planner for this matter, to gain further knowledge about the city. While both are indispensable to the society, research and results about the demand of the city will depict what kind of transportation the government should prioritize.

Moreover, if the result demonstrate the place is car-centric city, it is appropriate to for the government to give its prioritization on improving roads and highways. A good example will be USA or Canada, where the states are divided by large forrestry and mountains. Consquently, people are relying on cars as a primary means of transportations. On the other hand, if the study shows that the society relies heavily on public transportation, it is expected from the government to concentrate on refining and expanding public transportation for better utilization. A better examples are the European countries. Metro Rail, and underground trains are the primary tranpostations, even when crossing other countries borders. It is also the main reason why tourist are capable of transferring to other european countries by land.

In conclusion, while both options have their own merits and limitations, consulting professionals to conduct a study for the city is beneficial to the government, as they will play an enormous role as a deciding factor.