Some believe governments should spend more money on improving roads and highways, while some think money should be spent improving public transportation, such as buses, trains, and subways. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on wether governments should spend more budgets on developing infrastructures, or improving public transports, such as buses, trains. In this essay, I will discuss both views before explaining the reasons why I am neutral to both.

On the one hand, I believe that government should spend money on improving roads and highways. Firstly, this impact on people who participate in traffic since they experience quality of roads, and highways. Therefore, if the quality of the roads is dull, there would be a higher rate of people having accidents. Secondly, roads should be wide enough in order not to affect traffic flows, and cause traffic jams. By increasing the budgets invested on infrastructures, countries can improve their economy due to the faster transportation. For instance, In the U.S, wide roads and highways are significantly developed, which can boost their traffic flows, helping the citizens for not being late for their jobs.

On the other hand, public transportation systems should also be improved. First of all, climate change has been well known as the most severe hazards for human civilization, which is caused by pollution, especially the amount of CO2 emmisson from vehicles. For this reason, ameliorate the public transports is highly recommended to reduce the number of private vehicles, reduce the air pollution. In the second place, less private vehicles goes hand in hand with less traffic jams occurred. If public transports are improved with faster speed, and more frequency, there would be more citizens who want to utilize due to its convenience and affordable prices. The prime example for this trend is Japan, where subways are well invested with interesting high speed. For this reason, many citizens use it to go to many destinations such as schools, companies.

In conclusion, while investing money on roads and highways can help citizens to have less accidents and increase the traffic flows, public transportations can help to improve the natural conditions and reduce the traffic jams.