Some believe that because everyone needs a place to live, governments should provide houses for those who are too poor to afford their own. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Providing houses for low-income people has been a debated topic in recent years. I agree that this is a good solution, but the government should also consider other problems arising. In this paper, several points will be made to present my support for the above argument.

On the one hand, there are many benefits for both those poor individuals and society. The fact is that providing houses means reducing the proportion of crimes and making an increase in social stability. According to many recent surveys, poor people usually commit the crime and they are prone to be affected by social devils. Therefore, it exerts a bad influence on residents and society. Providing housing will help them stay more stable and find a job easier. Thanks to this, homeless people stand a golden chance to become productive members of society. Moreover, they will be protected against harsh weather. It is widely known that people who do not have a house will be the first to be affected when bad weather conditions hit. For example, a few years ago, among of hundreds of deaths in Japan due to the tsunami, the majority of them were poor people.

On the other hand, some people express a different point of view that providing free accommodation for everyone who is not possible to get has many drawbacks. Firstly, this solution does not guarantee to be successful in helping the homeless. Many of them are likely to depend heavily on charity so they are now incapable of feeling inclined to work, especially when they know they can beg for food and money. With this in mind, the issue puts pressure on the government because building houses is expensive and takes a great deal of time to finish, which means the government will delay social development such as schools, hospitals… Instead of providing free housing, the government should focus on creating job opportunities for homeless people. As a result, they have the incentive to work and improve their quality of life.

In conclusion, I agree that providing housing is a good solution. However, the government should take into account potential problems from this.