Some believe that because everyone needs a place to live, governments should provide houses for those who are too poor to afford their own. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerning about that government should provide housing for the people who are too poor to afford their own. While some believe that this responsibility lie with individuals, others, myself included, see greater benefit of governments provides affordable housing to those who cannot afford it.

On the one hand, it can be argued that there are two clear benefits that governments play an important role to provide affordable housing. Firstly, it is our collective responsibility to car for the most vulnerable members of our community. Moreover, this campaign would not only improve standard of living but also have a positive effect on the overall quality of life in the country. For example, allocating a fraction of the tax revenue towards providing housing for the poor would be a worthwhile investment. Secondly, this campaign would protect homeless people from harsh weathers or some disease. Homeless people are targets for abusers and serial killers or will be first one to go when harsh weather conditions hits. For instance, among hundreds of deaths in Canada due to heatwaves, the majority of them are homeless people.

On the other hand, because charity is often a double-edged sword, the government should consider the following potential problems before investing in home for poor. Firstly, this solution not to be successful in helping the homeless. Many people can rely heavily on charity, so they would be incapable of feeling inclined to work. For example, many still act like they are disable to ask for charity when they can work. Another problem is that this investment in charity housing will take a toll on taxpayers. Building housing is expensive and take a great deal of times to finish, which means the governments would delay other social development like providing better health, improving infrastructure or investing education.

In conclusion, although I acknowledge that providing housing for people who cannot afford is a good solution. However, the government should take into account potential problems form this solution.