Some believe that spoken communication is always more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that written communication is inferior to verbal communication. While scribed information can be refined and tailored to make it more powerful, however, the communication which involves personal touch like vocal, feels more human and hence convey powerful message to the listener.

Firstly, when it comes to writing, the writer can refine, organize and give a proper structure to the idea. The writer can even adjust tone of the writing like formal for academic settings, and casual for marketing. Nevertheless, the speaker can also plan and adjust their tonality. For instance, American Eagle, an international jeans brand, targeted its young customers through casual tone in their verbal advertisement. On the other hand, LIC, an insurance company, maintained formal tone to portray its information. On the contrary, written form of communication cannot adjust tone in many ways.

The 90’s were dominated by written political campaigns using newspaper as the primary form of communication. One might argue that these campaigns were widely success. But, we should not forget that political candidates were not able to travel every places to deliever speech. That’s why they choose written communication. But, in the present days, both written and verbal speech can be broadcasted to the wide audience. So, candidates prefer the speech that involve their personal voice as it can connect to poeple more emotionally. Take Mamdami, recent Newyork Mayor-Elect, for example. He was able to win election defeating the rooted political parties. This is because he was able to speak in multiple languages changing his tone to capture the nuances of that language. His speech was able to connect emotionally to the people which won him the challenging election.

In conclusion, spoken communication conveys powerful and more emotionally connecting message as the speaker can adjust their tone in many ways unlike writeen communication with limited style of writing.