Some business find that their new employees lack in basic interpersonal skills such as lack of ability to work with colleagues as a team, what are the causes and suggest possible solution.

In some work areas there may be newly employed staff who cannot have social interaction with their workmates. In this essay, I will discuss potential causes which trigger such a behavioral deficiency, and will offer several remedies to address this issue.

There are some possible reasons why those who begin to work have weak social abilities. Firstly and perhaps more dominantly, these working people recently join to the company, encountering with new people with their special personality traits as well as foreign work environment. Thus, it seems absolutely natural and takes a short time to get acquainted and collaborate with their colleagues well. Furthermore, this is likely rooted in what they have experienced before. There may be no one in neither school nor their home to teach them who to communicate with other people, and therefore they feel embarrassed when they are exposed with foreigner in their workplace and cannot openly share their point of view.

In my view, there are a couple of solutions which address the mentioned problem in some businesses. Firstly, the employers had better increase their exposure to other people. In order to do that, they can hold regular meetings which are not necessarily connected with working problems to make the new staff more familiar with their workmates and atmosphere of workplace. For instance, in high school, I had a classmate who always keep himself away from others. However, after a while, when we frequently discussed about our daily routines in leisure time, we established a close friendship, which has been lasted so far. Plus, bosses should allow those who are less able to collaborate with others due to their special personality, for example, introverted people, to take responsibilities which have nothing to do with other employees, making them feel more comfortable and even rendering the business more productive.

In conclusion, people who newly are employed in a business may not be able to communicate and collaborate with other staff due to their recent join or what they experienced before joining. However, if such problem exists, employers can cushion its effect by exposing them more to their colleagues and the workplace and separating their tasks in job from others.