Some businesses observe that new employees who just graduated from a college or university seem to lack the interpersonal skills needed for communication with their colleagues. What could be the reason for this? What solutions can help address this problem?

The contemporary issue that fresh graduates lack the required soft skills to properly communicate in the office has raised significant concerns. Many new school leavers face this challenge because internships are not part of our academic system. Nonetheless, higher institutions hold the key to addressing this, by introducing classroom and work-integrated learning in the school curriculum. Examining this problem and exploring potential solutions provides valuable insights into resolving this issue.

One of the primary reasons behind this problem is that co-op terms are not included in our academic syllabus. For instance, analysis of HR data on my recent Capstone project shows that young graduates have the lowest average soft skills in employee data collected in the United States. Clearly, individuals who just graduated lack the required interpersonal ability to properly integrate into the workforce. Therefore, the reason why absence of internship cultivates this problem.

To tackle this problem effectively, universities must take proactive measures to include co-op semesters in their curriculum. For example, the two month internship that was part of my recently completed post-graduate study gave me the edge I needed to properly transition into the workforce while my counterparts were still struggling to land a job due to poor communication. Obviously, being an intern helped me bridge the gap.

In conclusion, the trend that recent graduates do not have the soft skills to foster effective communication in the office has sparked substantial concerns, this could be because most college programs do not offer any work-integrated learning so the students end up with no work experience. However, the schools can resolve this by including a mandatory Co-op term in the study syllabus.