Some businesses observe that new employees who just graduated from a college or university seem to lack the interpersonal skills needed for communication with their colleagues. What could be the reason for this? What solutions can help address this problem?

The freshers who clear their last semester and get graduated, still have problems in communicating with the colleagues as they join a new organization. They find it difficult to have a conversation with people around them and it also hampers the effective transfer of official information

Many of the fresh graduates are very hesitant to talk to people in the organization. It is because of the initial barrier of meeting professionals and the officials in the higher position. They are shy about opening with the colleagues as they think that what they speak, should not create a bad impression on the people around them. Another reason is maturity. Freshers are not mature enough to gauge the interest of an individual to carry out a conversation with the office colleagues. Since they are naïve, they tend to be less talkative among the age group of the people who are elder to

If this is a larger problem which is affecting the organization, it can be dealt by two ways. One way can be a measure taken by the organization for the communication. For example, the organization can arrange a training session on effective communication which can help individuals to communicate within the groups. Another way of solving this problem is by the fresher himself. He can build up confidence on what he speaks. This can be achieved by reading books and daily newspaper. This can help both the employees and the freshers to have a clear communication between the