Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned from the city center. Public transportation like buses, taxis, and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some towns have police vehicle-free days when all types of private transport are forbidden from the center of towns. However, public transport be it buses, taxis are allowed. Despite, I believe that environmental benefits to be one of the most profitable of the given trend. Meanwhile, economic impact on businesses is often regarded as the major drawback of this situation.

There are obvious negative effects to having vehicle-free days, when private transports are banned in the center of the city such as economic impact on businesses in the center. Banning private vehicles can lead to obstructing people from visiting stores and other businesse’s facilities in this area. Thus, there will be a potential decrease in sales of shops or restaurants. Only with the figure for customers can businesmens get high outcomes. However, public transportation like metros, taxis and others are allowed and each person can use them for getting any place in the center of the city.

The reason why banning private transport in the center of some cities might be advantageous is environmental benefits. Little do people with their own vehicle understand the negative effects on the environment. Emissions produced by a vehicle make air unfit for breathing. Thus, decline in public health. This is the reason why thanks to these restrictions, cities can dramatically reduce air pollution and greenhouse emissions and also help improve health quality.

In conclusion, although, I guess that pros outweigh cons, the fact that economic impact on businesses can lead to drawbacks of this situation should not be neglected.