Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehiclefree days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

To tackle the significant urban traffic issue, some cities have embraced the concept of vehicle-free days, temporarily banishing private cars from the city center and promoting green traveling. While this initiative presents challenges, the benefits it brings to the environment and human health far outweigh the drawbacks.

The main benefit of implementing car-free days is that it is good for the environment and people living there. When people who usually drive out have to take bus, taxis, and metro, the number of private cars on roads is highly reduced, which can reduce the emission of greenhouse gas and alleviate the problem of air pollution. After trying the well-connected transport links, these people may change their habit and start to get used to green travel, which is beneficial to the environment. Forbidding private cars in the city centre is also good to public health because it is easier to encourage people to have a healthier travel mode in a more spacious community. For short-distance travel, such as buying groceries or cycling to the metro station nearby home, people may prefer to walk or cycle rather than drive.

Despite of these positive influences, the practice of vehicle-free days can be a big challenge for those who are very dependent on private cars because life is very inconvenient with cars. If more people take public transport, it can be overcrowded and the waiting time can be longer on car-free days. Therefore, some people may be less willing to go out to buy things and the transportation of goods for some shops and companies may be delayed or deferred, which can lower consumptions and do harm to economy.

In conclusion, the implementation of car-free days is beneficial to the local environment and citizen’s health considering that the less usage of public transportation helps to reduce air pollution and promotes a healthier lifestyle.