Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehiclefree days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The concept of implementing vehicle-free days when private transportation is prevented from entering the city center is being held by many metropolises. While this admittedly has certain inconveniences, I would believe that these are overshadowed by the advantages.

On the one hand, applying vehicle-free schemes on particular days can be negative to a certain extent. One legitimate concern is the flexibility of individuals. This means that instead of timing freedom in movements, residents have to be dependent on a fixed schedule of public transport such as buses or trams, rendering them less content or even annoyed. Another disadvantage that can not be overlooked is interrupting the transporting process of trucks from external areas, especially containers that transport building materials. This may result in deceleration of projects.

On the other hand, I am convinced that the aforementioned disadvantages pale in significance when compared to the positive aspects of cities’ restriction of personal cars, motorbikes, and trucks. Foremost among these benefits is that cities witnessed a reduction in both atmosphere and noise pollution. When using buses, for example, it means lowering not only emissions but also earsplitting sounds from personal vehicles, which account for one of the most serious factors in causing environmental problems. Furthermore, vehicle-free days help to decrease petrol consumed by conventional fueled cars and bikes. For many people, sharing a bus or tram can escalate into creating healthy habits among citizens that they use public transport without hesitations after benefiting from them.

In conclusion, despite certain drawbacks of banning trucks, cars and motorcycles for the sake of vehicle-free days, I contend that the advantages are far more pronounced.