Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned from the city center. Public transportation like buses, taxis, and metros are advised. (Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?)

There is a growing trend of having vehicle-free days in some cities, which encourages people to use public transportation, particularly taxis, metro and buses on these days, yielding certain advantages such as mitigation of air and noise pollution. However, I firmly believe that the drawbacks – notably business disruption and transport shortcomings – are far more profound and ultimately outweigh any perceived benefits.

Perhaps the most significant benefit of car-free days is decreased ecological damage. When people advocated to use public transportation such as buses, metro and taxis, they can minimize reliance on private vehicles, thereby decreasing carbon emissions and improving overall city mobility. This is exemplified by Luxembourg, in 2020, it became the first country to make all public transport (trams, trains, and buses) free, aimed to reduce traffic congestion and carbon consumption. Therefore, while indicating a marked increase in air quality, its overall significance remains relatively minor compared to the broader adverse impacts.

Despite these benefits, I do contend that extensive use of public transport can bring more detrimental consequences, one of which is the disruption to daily routines and local businesses. With individuals frequently encounter difficulties, especially local business owners, they struggle to sustain their operations on vehicle-free days. The implications are not confined to economic decrease but also extend to hardships for employees and loss of livelihoods, ultimately resulting in financial issues later in life. Take Tehran as a real-life example, in a study of the Chaharbagh Abbasi street, 27.5% of traditional businesses closed down following pedestrianization due to a stagnation in sales, with 69% reporting no growth.

Beyond this, this further extends to overcrowding in local transport. Since people encouraged to use buses and metro, that leads to significant operational, psychological, and physical strains on both the infrastructure and commuters. Consequently, this situation not only affects to people but also indicates the exposure of weakness in urban transportation. In this regard, I strongly presume that the overuse of public transport can pose more negative ramifications, especially in terms of negative impacts on passenger health, service quality, and infrastructure durability.

In conclusion, although vehicle-free days can bring some merits such as improved air quality and lower noise pollution. I strongly believe the far-reaching consequences driven by the relocation of traffic congestion to surrounding areas and economic impact on businesses decisively confirm that the drawbacks outweigh the perceived benefits.