Some companies encourage employees to compete with each other. What are the benefits and drawbacks of competition in the workplace? Is it more beneficial than harmful?

Some people may argue that competition in the workplace can lead to growth and keep the employees in check. While that may be true , i contend that this would eventually lead to division in various department, overall poor performance rates and discourage some of the employees.

Firstly, it is true that some competition is healthy. However, it is very easy for one to be carried away , especially in the work place where each individual is already under scrutiny for their performance .As a result , things may easily become tense at a workplace. For instance, in a situation where two individuals are up against each other to make a presentation to their supervisors , with competition , there is always a winner and a loser . Such a situation will more often than not bring out animosity or bitterness among collegues overtime.

Secondly, I believe good teamwork is one of the important foundations for the success of a company. For example, one employee may be good at data collection and the other may be good at noticing patterns and current trends that can uplift the company. In a scenario where these two individuals are pitted against each other, the best outcome may be missed . As the saying goes two is better than one.

Ultimately , I don’t totally disagree with the idea of some competition at the workplace. It can bring some good ,such as keeping the employees on their toes or encouraging them to strive to be the best versions of themselves. However, I still maintain my stand that the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages.