Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the recent times, few industries supports events as a medium for showcasing their products. This has sparked an argument, while some believe s that there are demerits attached to it, I am of the opinion that this is a welcome trend because it will help to enhance the financial statement of the sports sector and again make some products known to the public.

Admittedly, they are plethora reasons why sponsorship rendered by companies to sports events as a means of showcasing their goods is not ideal. Firstly, intermediate adverts placed within the period of the broadcast tends to sway people’s mind off the programme because they starts to imagine and comprehend the information being passed through the advertisement, hence, they become distracted and loss focus on the main event. Secondly, the small advert placed permanently on the screen of the television reduces the clarity of the game being viewed especially on small television screen.

However, despite the few mentioned demerits,I believe that the benefits is quite encouraging because game sectors becomes financial bountiful due to the tax paid by these companies in order to be given the previlage to showcase their products during the event. To illustrate, a newly established sports club in Nigeria witnessed a financial boom due to the friendly match organized by the federal government in which MTN, Coca- cola and lots more supported. In turn, their products was made known by the public. Furthermore, public display of products by the supported companies during the event enlighten the public to certain goods, thus, gives them the opportunity to make a responsible choice on certain products.

In conclusion, some industries supports game events a channel for publicizing their products. While some folks believe that it is not a welcomed trend, I support the view that it should be encouraged because it boosts the financial statement if the sector. Again, it makes some products known by the general public.