Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

Today, it has become increasingly prevalent for many nations to prioritise specialised sports facilities for top-level athletes over those that cater to the general public. In my opinion, this is a positive development.

On the one hand, I would argue that it is possible for ordinary people to maintain their good health without practicing with special equipment. This is because they can do normal physical activities, such as running and jogging, which are easy to take part in any place. In fact, many scientists prove that 20-minute running per day allows people to avoid harmful diseases, like cancer and obesity, since such activities build up human muscle and better immunity. Moreover, this has led to a saving cost for the government to maximise the quality of needed sports facilities for professionals. Hence, while athletes are more likely to access the best practice environment, the public is able to reinforce their good health condition without expensive facilities.

On the other hand, I believe that building specialized facilities for high-level athletes acts as a good measure for a country to prove itself as a top sporting nation. By doing that, professional athletes are given better golden opportunities to improve their performance to a world-class level, meaning that they can adapt to the tough requirements of some international sporting events, such as the World Cup and Seagame. Moreover, this action would enhance the national brand image around the world, showing a high level of excellence. As a result, many famous fashion brands, like Adidas and Nike,can pay money for such successful athletic clubs to advertise their products, thereby allowing those sporting countries to take money to invest in more high-quality equipment. Therefore, improving good sports equipment is beneficial for both professionals and a country’s reputation.

In conclusion, it seems to me that while ordinary people can improve their health and wellbeing through non-facility-based exercise, making the most of the best sports facilities for high-level athletes is a positive development.