Some countries have an ever-increasing proportion of the population who are aged 15 or younger. What do you think are the current and future effects of this trend for those countries?

In some parts of the world, the number of people who are 15 years old or younger is rising every year. This situation brings several effects for countries both now and in the future. Although there are some advantages, I believe the challenges are more serious.

At present, one main effect is pressure on the education system. When a large part of the population is very young, governments need to spend more money on schools, teachers, and learning materials. In many developing countries, this leads to crowded classrooms and lower education quality. Another current effect is that working adults may feel more financial stress, because they have to support a bigger number of dependents in their families. This sometimes slows down economic growth.

In the future, however, the situation might change. As these young people grow up, they will enter the workforce. This can be a benefit because the country will have a large labour force, which may help the economy expand. For example, many Asian countries experienced fast economic development because of a young population. On the other hand, if the government does not invest enough in education now, the future workforce might be unskilled. This could create unemployment problems and even social issues like crime or poverty.

Another possible future effect is that competition for jobs will increase. If there are too many young adults looking for work, but not enough companies hiring, many of them will struggle to find stable employment. This situation may lead to frustration and put pressure on the government to create more opportunities.

In conclusion, having a growing proportion of young people has both positive and negative effects. While it can bring economic advantages in the future, countries must plan carefully today by improving their education systems and creating enough jobs. Otherwise, the trend may cause more problems than benefits.