Some countries have introduced laws to limit the working hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these law introduced? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Recently, some governments have created laws to limit labor hours for employees. These regulations have been introduced to protect workers’ health and ensure a good work-life balance. This essay will discuss why this is a positive change for society, despite the presence of detractors.

As a result of the increase in burnout cases around the world, some governments have started to restrict and reduce working hours. Due to worldwide concerns about people’s mental health and well-being, studies have found that overworked employees are more susceptible to depression, anxiety, and various physical diseases. This is evidenced by Latin American countries, which not only have forty-six to forty-eight working hours per week but also a dramatic increase in suicide cases. In contrast, the Philippines has shown a better quality of life and improved mental health among the population, as people spend only four hours per day at work.

On the other hand, some companies are worried about productivity and efficiency. They argue that this will become a problem because employees will not achieve targets and they will need to hire more workforce in jobs where extended working hours are necessary, such as medical and hospital jobs. Nevertheless, a study conducted by the University of Oxford in 2022 proved that people with part-time jobs are more productive and efficient than full-time workers because they can achieve personal goals and satisfaction, leading to better concentration at work.

On the whole, this change in limit time that people spend at their office, have shown positive changes not only in mental health and reduction of sickness but an increase in production and effectiveness on the achievement of targets. Companies should not worry about this and governments must continue bringing laws that protect peoples’ work-life balance to create a happier, healthier, and efficient workforce.