Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors to take part in major competitions such as Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people say that it would be better to spend this money encouraging children to take up sports from a young age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether government should spend more money on professional athletes or youngsters to develop national sports has sparked widespread in recent years. While some people are convinced that supporting elite competitors is more beneficial, I strongly believe that the authorities should allocate more budget for children, as it would be more advantageous in the long run.

Firstly, supporting children in national sports has a better long-term return on investment. Preparing professinal sportsmen is an expensive venture. If a country appropriates funds on a few top-tier athletes, the result will affect only a small amount of people. However, the same amount of money can be spread among the thousands of young participants. Over time, some of them will naturally turn into high-level athletes, which means that the country develops talent more efficiently.

On the other hand, some individuals might think that professionals are more disciplined and may bring material success, such as medals and cups. While this is partially true, it is important to remember that when children are involved in sport programs, more families and communities become engaged, establishing cohesion. This can create a stronger sporting culture and greater national pride.

Taking everything into consideration, I conclude that while supporting elite competitors might provide immediate results, coaching children yields more rewarding results.