Some countries spend a lot of money to make bicycle usage easier. Why is this? Is this the best solution to traffic congestion?

In recent times, it has become increasingly common for some countries to direct a large amount of money to facilitate easy access to bicycle usage. While there are clear reasons behind this policy, I believe that the government can take several actions to better address this problem.

With rapid population growth along with fierce competition in the job market, many people are losing their jobs, which has led to high crime rates, particularly in cities. Given these circumstances, it comes as no surprise that nowadays individuals are caring much about safety issues in public, thus using their private cars. Gone are the days when people would commute to work or school on foot or by bicycle; today there are a lot of cars on the road, urging some governments to support bicycle usage to avoid traffic congestion.

Although bikes may help alleviate the situation to some extent, I remain convinced that this cannot be the best solution. However, there are various other ways in which the problem of traffic congestion can be confronted. As there has been a rise in the number of private cars, the government should make more public transport available to people along with improving its quality, thus ensuring safe and easy access to it. Furthermore, individuals can also take actions on their own. For example, they may carpool with neighbors if their destination is the same, thereby reducing the number of cars on the road.

In conclusion, although countries are investing more money in bicycle usage due to high congestion rates on the road, I maintain that governments and individuals can take various measures to combat the problem in addition to this.