Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favor.

Some nations have approved a law that bans smoking of tobacco in public places, while other countries are not in favour of restricting public smoking. While cigarette sales generate huge revenue for the government and country. I believe that health issues caused by tobacco smoking to the general public, especially to children, are unacceptable.

On the one hand, the major contributor to a nation’s income is taxes earned on selling cigarettes or tobacco items. Restricting smoking in public places will reduce the market of buyers, which in turn will have a steep impact on the country’s revenue generation. Therefore, it is not affordable to ban tobacco consumption. Consider an example of a highly populated country like India, where the cigarette lobby occupies a prime position. The Lobby has not yet approved the sale of e-cigarettes because of its impact on the manufacture of traditional cigars.

On the other hand, it has been well known that the smoke generated by the usage of tobacco causes serious health hazards to humans. Children are more prone to the illness due to their underdeveloped and highly sensitive organs. Nicotine in the puff, is not only cancerous to the smoker but also to the people around him. Places like offices and restaurants are hugely crowded, as a result, increasing the risk of disease to a bigger chunk of people. I personally am allergic to the smell of cigars, to an extent where I get suffocated, if exposed to the smoke for a longer time.

In conclusion, although the sale of tobacco contributes to a country’s economy. The suffering and health problems caused by tobacco smoke is severe and cannot be ignored. Hence all countries should restrict the smoking of tobacco at least in public places if not everywhere.