Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which is better?

The advent of numerous education systems has led to the variation of benefits. While a portion of the population contends that high school students should place emphasis on certain subjects, the others assert that a wide range of subjects would benefit learners. This essay will discuss the advantages of each system and give my own notion about this dispute.

On the one hand, focusing mainly on certain subjects can help ease the tremendous burden on students. In other words, students can stand a chance of opting for subjects on the basis of their weaknesses and strengths, helping them refrain from struggling to evenly divide time for all subjects and find a way for confronting daunting tasks or subjects. Moreover, the likelihood of delving into a specific field can be attributed to the freedom of subjects choices. To elaborate, since learners can determine what subjects they wish to study, they are highly likely to try their best and make an effort to realize their dreams, assisting them in obtaining a profound wealth of knowledge and deep understanding of certain fields. In addition, another noteworthy point is that being at liberty to choose subjects can foster their mental well-being and provide them with long-term perseverance, motivation and a sense of interest.

On the other hand, learning a wide range of subjects may cater them for vast knowledge, helping them establish and consolidate the foundation of immense fields that can offer numerous upcoming unique opportunities. For example, those who have learnt all the subjects can have various opportunities related to these subjects, in stark contrast to learners following the modernized education system and only devoting themselves to certain fields. Additionally, the demanding today’s world requires humans to attain and own a good variety of skills to adapt to the rapidly changing world. That is what traditional institutions could help students with, as learners can comprehensively enhance their skills and make themselves more versatile. Furthermore, a wide range of subjects assists learners in recognizing and determining what fields they have a good command of or have an interest in. That facilitates them to plan for their future career path and make appropriate choices.

In conclusion, both types of curricula can cater humans for a diversity of benefits, including the sense of passion, mental well-being, flexibility and among others. Nonetheless, from my standpoint, I hold the belief that both education systems also have numerous demerits, including inappropriate choices, limited opportunities and so on. To offset these flaws, humans can simultaneously put both curricula into practice so that students are facilitated to study all the subjects before deciding what subjects they wish to learn and investigate.