Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which is better?

In certain countries, when 15-year-old students engage in the education system, the emphasis is often put on only a few subjects, whereas in other countries, students are required to be well-rounded in considerably more fields of knowledge. While each approach to how schoolchildren learn definitely holds its own appeal, I think that an education system with more specialization benefits them better.

Firstly, those who support the latter approach argue that it provides the learners with a more diverse knowledge skillset, which can prepare them to be more flexible in ways of thinking when the situation calls for it. For instance, in Vietnam’s gifted schools, many specialized classes only require students to have a decent score for other subjects, but many choose to go an extra mile and also acquire new skills, which gives them a competitive edge over others when they apply for a job.

On the other hand, having more time for only a limited amount of subjects to study for gives the students more time to hone and master their craft, allowing them to become exceptional at it. This, in turn, allows them to unlock certain career paths or a better-paying job than others due to how specialized they are. For example, it is undeniable that doctors working in general fields, like a primary care physician, generally have a lower salary than someone who works in a more specialized field, such as neurosurgeons.

In conclusion, I think that while a broader range of subjects does allow students to be more adaptable when situations change and unexpected problems occur, having a focused priority allows the students to reach deeper levels of knowledge that would have otherwise been harder to attain with the former system.